Home | Sitemap | Recent Changes | Login

SPF Logo

Sender Policy Framework

Council Election/2006-01

In late 2004, the community of the SPF Project decided that a more organized, cohesive approach would be needed in order to fight e-mail identity forgery and other e-mail abuse. Thus, the SPF Council body was created and elected in December 2004. Five council members were chosen to lead the project over the following months: Mark Kramer (Leiden, Netherlands), Chuck Mead (Cary, NC, USA), Julian Mehnle (Munich, Germany), Wayne Schlitt (Lincoln, NE, USA), and project founder Meng Weng Wong (Philadelphia, PA, USA). In mid-2005, Chuck Mead left the council and Greg Connor (San Jose, CA, USA) took the open seat.

In 2006, one year after the council's formation, the SPF Project went on to elect its second council. Again, five council members lead the project over twelve months to solidify the SPF standard and continue the battle against e-mail sender forgery according to the visions of the project's community.

Election Results

There were 34 voters who elected 5 council members from 8 candidates. These were the elected council members (ordered by Condorcet rank):

Per council resolution, these former council members are invited to act as advisors to the 2nd council:

The 2nd council's term began on 2006-01-30 and is projected to end on 2007-02-04.

Election Platforms

There were declarations of intent (or election platforms) by some of the candidates (in chronological order):

The Election Process

According to the council election procedures that were passed on 2006-01-02, the 2006 election process started on that same day. Everyone was eligible to vote in the election who was subscribed to the spf-discuss mailing list on Monday, 2006-01-09, at 00:00 UTC. (As a one-time deviation from the formal procedures, due to tightness of schedule the eligibility key date was postponed by one week from the nominal date.)

The sitting council appointed Greg Connor as the election officer who conducted the election and certified the results.

This was the schedule of the 2006 council elections:

2006-01-02 .. 01-0801-09 .. 01-1501-16 .. 01-2201-23 .. 01-2501-26 .. 01-2901-30
Appoint Election Officer
Acceptance, Discussion
Dispute Resolution
Start of Term


Please direct your questions and comments at the spf-discuss mailing list or directly at the election officer, Greg Connor.

Edit text of this page | View other revisions
Last edited 2006-12-10 16:17 (UTC) by Julian Mehnle (diff)