Home | Sitemap | Recent Changes | Login

SPF Logo

Sender Policy Framework

News/SPFv1 is RFC 4408

A lot has happened since the SPF project's last real news announcement in May 2005:

The SPF project's website has moved: http://www.openspf.org

To begin with, the project's website at http://spf.pobox.com has moved to a new host and domain at http://www.openspf.org – thanks to project founder Meng Weng Wong and pobox.com for having hosted the website for the last three years! Everyone please update your links! We are also working on a new website (this one!) to replace the old one soon.

SPFv1 = RFC 4408

19 months after the IESG, the steering group of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF), shut down the MARID (MTA Authorization Records in DNS) working group and asked for individual submissions from the SPF project and Microsoft in September 2004, and nearly three years after the SPF project was initially founded by Meng Weng Wong, the SPFv1 specification has now been published as RFC 4408!

This specification has been refined from earlier editions, but great care has been taken to remain compatible with the first stable SPFv1 specification published in December 2003. Many lessons learned, security considerations, and other bits of useful information have been added to the document, so reviewing it should prove worthwhile if you haven't done so within the last year and a half.

The IESG has assigned the RFC "Experimental" status, meaning that they consider it part of an ongoing research effort within the field of e-mail sender authentication and that they wish additional data to be collected on the performance of SPF. Therefore we invite you to try out SPF, recommend it to your peers, and feed your experiences back to us. We will be collecting your reports and statistics on the new SPF website for evaluation and later presentation to the IESG.

SPF and Sender ID

In June 2005, the IESG had announced its acceptance of the final SPFv1 specification draft (draft-schlitt-spf-classic) and Microsoft's SPF derivative called Sender ID (draft-lyon-senderid-core) for the publication as RFCs.

Sender ID however re-uses SPF's "v=spf1" records in an incompatible way, so in August 2005 the SPF project appealed the IESG's decision to publish Sender ID with that incompatibility included. In December 2005, the IESG rejected the appeal, explaining that, although they did recognize the incompatible re-use as being a problem, they did not want to change the Sender ID specification but still wanted to publish the conflicting protocols so they'd both be documented. An escalated appeal to the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) was likewise rejected in March 2006 as the IAB considered it to be within the IESG's rights to make that decision.

For our detailed take on the ambiguous situation that now exists due to the equal publication of Sender ID as RFC 4406, please see "SPF vs Sender ID".

The project agenda for 2006

The SPF project has set the following goals for 2006:

  • Get SPFv1 published as an RFC!
  • Complete the new website to replace the current one!
  • Review the available SPF library implementations and bless at least one of them as a reference implementation.
  • Review SPF support in MTAs and get SPF into more MTA distros.
  • Review SPF support in OSes and get SPF into more OS distros.
  • Start a grassroots "Spread SPF!" campaign to get in touch with domain owners and ESPs/ISPs.

If you'd like to contribute to these tasks (or to something else), please join the spf-discuss mailing list and lend a hand. All contributions are greatly appreciated!

Thanks to the 2005 SPF Council!

In January 2006, the SPF project elected a new council (see below for more information). Thanks to the outgoing 2005 council members, Meng Weng Wong, Wayne Schlitt, Chuck Mead, and Greg Connor, for their hard work and dedication – and especially Meng for founding the project in 2003 and advocating sender authentication to ISPs/ESPs, and Wayne for his great work on the post-MARID SPFv1 specification! All previous council members are invited to continue in an advisory capacity.

The 2006 council would also like to thank Greg Connor for his work as the election officer for the 2006 council elections.

The elected 2006 Council

The 2006 SPF Council has started its term on January 30, 2006. The elected council members are (in last name alphabetical order):

  • Stuart Gathman (Fairfax, VA, USA)
  • Mark Kramer (Leiden, Netherlands)
  • William Leibzon (Palo Alto, CA, USA)
  • Julian Mehnle (Munich, Germany)
  • Mark Shewmaker (Atlanta, GA, USA)

The council elected Julian as its chairman and William as its secretary.

For questions of any kind, please post to the spf-discuss mailing list or contact us directly.

Edit text of this page | View other revisions
Last edited 2006-12-12 23:21 (UTC) by Julian Mehnle (diff)